Skip to content

samuel smith’s oatmeal stout

March 22, 2009

Last night, I sampled a bottle of Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal stout while reading “Marx in SOHO.” I picked it up from the corner store on my way home. Suffice it to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The $3.99 bottle was worth every penny.

Overall, the beer was hearty, smooth and mildly sweet. The initial rich, malt flavor was nicely balanced by a perfect amount of hops. Neither was overpowering, but the malt definitely took center stage giving it a nice, mild sweetness.

As this is one of the first oatmeal stouts I have tried, it is hard to say how it compares to other oatmeal stouts, but my tastes buds were in heaven. I would highly recommend this to people who like to sip a dark, thick beer after a good meal, or while chatting with friends.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

