Skip to content

mind-blowing films

February 12, 2010

Over at Icrontic, they kicked off their “theme of the week” series by asking people to highlight the movies that blew their mind. As usual, I was late to the party. But it got me thinking, What are the films that have made a lasting impression on me?

Honestly, there are so many great films out that have blown me away I could never name them all, but right off the top of my head I can think of at least two films by Ingmar Bergman that have had a major impact on me: Det sjunde inseglet (The Seventh Seal) and Nattvardsgästerna (Winter Lights).

They’re probably too slow for most people, but there’s something deeply contemplative and existential about them that really draws me in. That, and I think they’re both examples of great filmmaking. For me, atmosphere and story are everything, and Bergman was a master storyteller.

Other honourable mentions include Bom yeoreum gaeul gyeoul geurigo bom (Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter… and Spring), Dellamorte Dellamore (Cemetery Man), Kontroll and Pi.

I’d also have to say that most of the animated films I’ve seen in the past ten years have been mind-blowing in various ways.

Anything by Studio Ghibli, for example, is simply great. Whether it’s a cute and lighthearted retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s story “The Little Mermaid” (Gake no Ue no Ponyo) or a powerful and heartbreaking portrayal of 1945 wartime Japan (Hotaru no Haka), I’ve yet to see one of their films that hasn’t impressed me.

And, of course, there are companies like Laika, Pixar, etc., who are also putting out some great material. It’s a seriously underrated genre, in my opinion.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I rather liked 'The Lovely Bones.' In short it's about a girl that is murdered and then continues to view how her family and others react to her absence from a realm in-between heaven and Earth.

    At some point she says 'I began to see things in a way that let me hold the Earth without me in it.' She sees how her life affected others and continues to affect them from a selfless angle/perspective.

    This is a great lesson for all of us who remain among the 'living.' If we embrace our role in the larger picture and in the lives of others, we find that even death does not remove our positive energy from the world. This is a very peaceful way to think. 🙂

    Namaste

Leave a Reply

