Skip to content

merry christmas

December 25, 2010

To be honest, I don’t believe in a creator God, nor, as a consequence, do I believe that Jesus is the son of God/God in the flesh. Nevertheless, I do have a soft spot for Jesus as a spiritual teacher, and I think some of the things he’s reported as saying in the New Testament are pretty cool—I especially like, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone” (John 8:7), the Sermon on the Mount and his many teachings on forgiveness.

I’ve also found a growing appreciation for Christianity in general (although I do tend to lean more towards the heterodox), thanks in part to my dear friend, Simon (e.g., see my fairly recent blog post, “a new found appreciation“).

That said, it’s mainly because this day isn’t just about the birth of Jesus that I find myself ‘getting into the Christmas spirit.’ Not only was this a time of celebration for a host of other ancient winter festivals (e.g., Dies Natalis Solis Invicti, Saturnalia, Yule, etc.), but it’s the season that in modern times has been traditionally set aside for warm tidings and communion, regardless of who you are or what you believe, which is why I don’t have any qualms about wishing everyone a very Merry Christmas.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

