Skip to content

so i had fun at church today….

July 11, 2011

I was sitting at home this morning, drinking a cup of coffee and rather bored, when I decided to attend Mass at the Greek Orthodox church near my house. I’m not exactly sure why, but I think part of it may have been the fact that I’ve been reading Fyodor Dostoyevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov lately, in which the Russian Orthodox Church plays a prominent role.

Apparently, I picked a good day to go as the bishop of Atlanta, Metropolitan Alexios, was visiting and gave a surprisingly good sermon based on Mt 8:5-13 despite it being rather ‘faith’ heavy (I’m generally what you’d call a rationalist). I also got anointed with some myrrh from the Myrrh-streaming “Hawaiian” Iveron Icon of the Theotokos, which I guess just happened to be making the rounds of Orthodox churches in the Pacific Northwest. It was definitely a surreal experience for me.

Only one person there happened to know that I wasn’t Orthodox (or even Christian for that matter) as we’d met before at the annual Greek festival, but he didn’t seem to care. In fact, he invited me out to lunch after the service and we had a nice discussion (well, he did most of the talking) about everything from The Matrix to his trip to Japan to what the ‘icon’ of the communion ritual truly represents. The last was especially enlightening.

I half expect to burst into flames whenever I walk into a church considering the kind of person I used to be, or at least the kind of person I imagined myself to be (think Damien from The Omen), but I was surprised by how much I enjoyed myself and how welcomed I felt. I suppose much of that was due to the company; but whatever the case, I’m glad I went.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I'm glad you went too.

Leave a Reply

