Skip to content

occupy detroit: a hopeful start

October 11, 2011

Today I attended the first General Assembly meeting for Occupy Detroit. It was an incredible experience. Not only was the turnout great, but the energy was, too. It was truly heartening to see so many people passionate about something greater than themselves rallying around a common cause, particularly in my home town of Detroit, which has a reputation of being cynical to the point of apathy when it comes to things like political activism. One lady even brought her young son to the event, and later tweeted, “Thanks for tonight. I brought my 4 yr old. We’re both excited. He says he wants to make the world better.”

Of course, not everything at the meeting went smoothly, but that’s to be expected at the beginning of any spontaneous, grassroots movement; and I’m hopeful that the next meeting/march/occupation that’s planned for this Friday will be even bigger and better if what I saw tonight is any indication of its potential. And that’s saying something considering that many people, including myself, doubted that Detroit would actually manage to organize any sort of concerted response to, and in solidarity with, the Occupy Wall Street movement at all. But it is, and I’m damn proud of Detroit for it. As the handout I picked up says, “Detroit is a city of voices that deserve to be heard.”

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. News story on the first Occupy Detroit General Assembly meeting. If you look closely :37-38 into the video, you can see me and my friend Dave on the right-hand side: http://www.clickondetroit.com/video/29463287/index.html

Leave a Reply

