Skip to content

happy birthday, eugene

November 5, 2011

Most people think of Guy Fawkes on November 5th, a member of the Gunpowder Plot of 1605 who was arrested while guarding explosives placed beneath the House of Lords; but today is also the birthday of Eugene V. Debs, one of the greatest Americans to ever have lived, in my opinion. He was a champion of the working class if there ever was one. Happy Birthday, comrade.

“Your Honor, years ago I recognized my kinship with all living beings, and I made up my mind that I was not one bit better than the meanest on earth. I said then, and I say now, that while there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free” (Eugene V. Debs, upon being convicted of violating the Sedition Act for giving the speech read above by actor Mark Ruffalo).

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

