Skip to content

pure michigan

June 15, 2012

Michigan state Rep. Lisa Brown was rightfully censured and barred from speaking by House Republicans for saying the word ‘vagina’ in reference to a package of bills regulating abortions: “Finally, Mr. Speaker, I’m flattered that you’re all so interested in my vagina, but ‘no’ means ‘no.'” Her comment was deemed too offensive (as it should’ve been), and she was prevented from speaking on an unrelated school employee retirement bill as a consequence. She responded at a subsequent press conference by asking, “If I can’t say the word vagina, why are we legislating vaginas? What language should I use?” Good question. Maybe they were just confused by her female technobabble. Maybe she should have called it ‘that part of my body that I have no rights over because it makes me a woman and only men are allowed regulate what I choose to do with it.’ Because we all know that women are just baby-making factories, not human beings who have the right to decide for themselves if and when they have children. /sarcasm

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

