Skip to content

meal offering

November 16, 2012

Went to a meal offering and impromptu house blessing today, which is sort of a Thai Buddhist tradition where someone invites a monk or a group of monks to accept their daily meal at their house, especially after just moving in. Occasions like this are often festive affairs, with people bringing all kinds of dishes to offer and share. It’s basically like a big potluck with a bit of Pali chanting thrown in for good measure. It’s always a pleasant experience, and the food is always wonderful. One of the ladies even offered to teach me how to cook traditional Thai dishes sometime after Thanksgiving, and I’m definitely going to take her up on that.

As far as I can recall, this was my first meal offering outside of a monastery or meditation hall, and I’m glad that I was able to make it. I almost missed out because I wasn’t paying as much attention as I should’ve been while looking up the directions and took the wrong bus, jumping on the 4 instead of the 14. If nothing else, today was at least a good lesson on the importance of mindfulness.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

