Skip to content

forgetfulness

August 8, 2013

Watched Sylvia last night, which inspired me to write a poem instead of the usual things.

“forgetfulness”

I’d forgotten
 the love and the passion and the promises
  the selfishness
 the lies
and the beautiful way you have of telling them
It feels like I’d waited for you for eternity
 then one day
  you were just
 there
as if you’d fell from heaven like a bolt of lightning
 rending my life
  asunder
And I was willingly deceived
Because I understood you
I saw into your soul
 your pain
  your lust
  your despair
 your childlike innocence
your insatiable desire to be acknowledged
It was as if we were one
In you I saw my reflection
 and I was
  seduced
We were cut from the same cloth
Almost as if we were meant to be
 the other’s
  undoing
Our passion was like the fires of hell
 unquenchable
  merciless
And their all-consuming flames made our betrayals
 that much sweeter
I’d forgotten
Because it was the only way to survive
 without
  you
Remembering was like a tidal wave of emotions
 smashing down upon my fragile countenance
  again and again
 with such savage and unrelenting fury
I was completely
 shattered
And my sole yearning was to forget
 once more
  the love and the passion and the promises
  the selfishness
 the lies
and the beautiful way you have of telling them
To sail down the river of forgetfulness
 and crash
  into the waiting arms
   of oblivion

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

