Skip to content

happy birthday, artpop!

November 11, 2015

Confession time. I’m a big Lady Gaga fan. I mean, what’s not to like? I like her style, her outspokenness, and the fact that she uses her fame to promote things like gay rights and, on occasion, support working-class issues. (And I love the fact that Slavoj Zizek analyzes her theoretical contributions to cultural theory, as well as her “actual theoretical project.”) I’m not quite ‘monster’ status or anything, but I definitely like to dance around the house to “Bad Romance” or “Applause” once in a while. Her music is one of my guilty pleasures. Whenever I’m down, it lifts me up. And whenever I’m happy, it makes me want to dance (which is an admittedly rare and frightening occurrence). Lately, I’ve had a bunch of songs from her latest album, Artpop, stuck in my head; and as I was watching the video for “G.U.Y.” for the umpteenth time, I realized that today happens to be the two-year anniversary of its release. So, Happy Birthday, Artpop!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment